New course, new book, new event

It’s been a minute since I updated this site! During this gap, I have:

  • started reading a new design-related book called ‘Design As Art‘ by Bruno Munari. It has been enjoyable so far. I like taking it slow and making sure to look up some of the references he makes. So now I know about Alexander Calder’s mobiles. It’s also good to know his thoughts about how design is different from art (and sort of feeling guilty because I realize that I often mix the two). The design of a product is not its style. The design of a product is the form, color, feel that it takes based on the product’s function. I intend to write a better reflect on this book when I finish it.
  • started a new course in Coursera called ‘Web Design: Strategy and Information Architecture‘. I’m just auditing the course, so for the locked quizzes, I’ll try to just document it here. I do plan to hopefully finish the course before October ends.
  • attended the World Interaction Design Day this week. The theme (for the Singapore one, at least) is inclusive design. We heard some case studies for involving persons with disabilities in the design process, the benefits and how-to of inclusive design, and lastly, some assistive technologies that SG Enable are working on.

Leave a comment